Romance Writers and Grammar

Confession time! I know I call myself a  thriller writer, which I am, but I also write in another genre… adult romance. And my latest trilogy should be released by this summer 2015. I would say they’re along the lines of the ever popular Fifty Shades of Grey, but controlling, obsessive, borderline abusive men aren’t my thing. Whips and chains, okay. Men who control what you eat and how you dress, not so much. I just hope readers enjoy it like they have Fifty Shades, even though those books have had their fair share of criticisms such as being poorly written. But thanks to the good folks over at Grammarly, they’ve shown it’s not that bad! In fact, many other romances make similar mistakes. We’ll call it the language of love. Check out the graphic below, provided by Grammarly, for a list of the most frequent mistakes.

FiftyShades-final

 

7 thoughts on “Romance Writers and Grammar

    1. Thank you! I totally agree with the counter balance. Each genre has helped me in the other too. I’ve found that from writing in romance I’ve become more character-centric and learned to develop them deeper. Then on the flip side, crime’s taught me to create action packed plots or in the case of romance, create something to keep it interesting and moving. Thanks for stopping by! Good luck with your writing too! 🙂

    1. Thank you! Oh prepositions, evil little words and one of my common mistakes too (along with numbers two-comma misuse, four-colloquialisms, and six-sentence fragments. So bad with those!).

Leave a Reply

