Book AND Movie Review: Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Book AND Movie: Gone Girl

Author: Gillian Flynn

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Gone GirlThis is the type of thing that makes you glance sideways at your significant other and wonder, ever so slightly, if it’s possible. Would they? Could they? You see, Gone Girl, is about a marriage gone bad. Real bad. When Nick Dunne’s Wife, Amy, disappears all suspicion turns to him. And his cringe-worthy antics aren’t helping things either. But did he do it? And if not, then where is his Wife? With mounting pressure, cracks open exposing the dark underbelly of human nature. One thing is for certain, nothing and no one will ever be the same. Sounds intriguing right? Well, don’t make the same mistake I did.

Which is what, right? Well, I made the mistake of reading the book first then seeing the movie. But hey, hindsight is 20/20. Besides, I wouldn’t have seen the movie if it wasn’t for the book. I’m not a movie person (now my Husband, on the other hand…) and the trailer didn’t excite me either. However, because the movie follows the book so closely, I think I would have enjoyed it more if I didn’t already know every twist and turn. One character surprised me though, the Sister, Margo or Go for short. I didn’t care for her in the book, but the actress brought the character to life more than I ever thought she would. And it helped that she had all the good lines too, much funnier in the movie.

And then there’s that rumor. If you’ve heard, Flynn also wrote the screenplay and before the movie came out she claimed the ending was different from the book to keep readers interested. Well… let me tell you, it wasn’t that different. At all. Other than a few tiny things, I’m not exactly sure what she “changed”. I feel like it was more of a marketing ploy to get readers to see the movie and I don’t appreciate that. You should let the book speak for itself. If it’s good, people will see the movie. Perhaps not in the theater, but in the comfort of their own house like I originally wanted.

As for the book, I thought it was predictable and had a feeling where it was going early on. Like way early on. Around page fifty to be exact. But Flynn’s dark, gritty, raw writing style draws you in like a car crash. You know what’s going to happen, but you just can’ t look away. You have to see. And boy did it keep me turning the pages. However, some of the dialogue irked me a bit. Now I’m no saint and I can spit out a string of profanities as good as a football coach losing the Superbowl. But in both the movie and book, it felt overdone almost like Flynn was going for the shock-factor. Because I’m pretty sure most people don’t say fuck that much. Unless, you know, I just hang around with a morally righteous group of people… most of which are lawyers. And it’s not that I had a problem with it for an ethical reason, I just felt it wasn’t realistic dialogue. Which is sad because everything else in the book feels so realistic it’s scary.

Although, I didn’t like the ending, but not for the reasons you might think (if you read/seen it). Don’t worry, I’m not going to give it away. I just didn’t feel the husband Nick grew enough during the course of the book. He was still the same complacent character he was at the beginning as he was at the end. And after all he had been though, I thought he would change. At least a little… I mean, come on, no one goes through that and stays the same.

Overall though, it’s an interesting read/watch and I’d say give it a try. Just be sure to see the movie first.

p.s. Oh and if you’re excited about Ben Affleck’s full frontal… ha! A puff of hair and a side of leg doesn’t count. Unless you’re so small the bush ate your tree because that’s what it looked like. Then again, maybe that’s why he said it’s better in IMAX. Now Neil Patrick Harris… THAT was a full frontal. And a nice side of ass too. Bravo!

4 thoughts on “Book AND Movie Review: Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

  1. This is one book I have gone back and forth over – to read, or not to read. I have taken it off the shelf at the bookstore and put it back countless times. I found it interesting that you feel the movie should be seen before the book is read. It is usually the other way around.

    1. I did the same thing! Then finally one day I gave in (I had a coupon and figured if I didn’t like it at least I didn’t spend full price), but I’m actually really glad I did. Her writing is very captivating, even if the story is pretty messed up. With movies vs. books, I usually feel the other way around too, but this one was just too close to the film. I wished she had changed it more, something to keep the readers on their toes with instead of sitting there knowing everything that would happen.

Leave a Reply

