Fall Festives

IMG_2229

Ah, fall my favorite time of the year! My husband and I always try to get away for a little leaf-peeping in October and this year we chose Letchworth State Park as our destination. The air was crisp, the leaves crunchy, and the sights breath-taking. I’ll just let the pictures speak for themselves.

Falls and Leaves

 

IMG_2181

Our puppies came along for the ride too and I think they had more fun than us! If the snoring on the way home was any indication…

Doggies

We had also hoped to take this vintage train ride through the country-side that is nearby to see more leaves, but we didn’t get tickets the one day and the next day the weather was bad. Sorry Michelle, so bummed! Might try again next year.

We did however, on Sunday, get to explore this cool cave along the Erie Canal. It was created in the 1800’s for water to flow through to the factories lining the canal. Nerd alert fun fact… who created the tunnel? Birdsill Holly who also invented the fire hydrant. Pretty cool!

Caves

17 thoughts on “Fall Festives

  1. Your photo’s are beautiful, and familiar. However at 71 and living in Florida for the past 23 years I tend to enjoy the photographs more knowing what will follow in a few months. Fall in Florida can be colorful and pleasant depending on where in Florida you live. If I feel the need for the colorful foliage and cool weather I can take a couple of hour drive to Mt. Dora and enjoy the fall atmosphere, however I do enjoy fall no matter where I am, and also by reading blogs like your and seeing your beautiful photograph’s. Well done. :o)

    1. Thank you so much! And I hear you, especially after last winter’s brutal cold. I’ve never been to Florida in the fall and never knew that it could be colorful at that time, that’s so cool. I always imagined it would be greenery and palm trees year round. Learn something new every day πŸ™‚ I’m so glad you are able to enjoy fall wherever you are too. Living vicariously is so nice when you can enjoy the best of both worlds. Thank you so much again for reading and for your kind words πŸ™‚

  2. Hi Stephanie, Thanks for the mention. I’m so sorry you didn’t get to take the train ride; I can only imagine the sights you would have seen from the train. Your pics are fantastic! Incredibly beautiful! I have never heard of this park, but it is definitely on my “to see” list now. I love the fall colors and the crunch of crisp leaves, and you certainly found a beautiful backdrop for them. I’m so happy you had such a wonderful time with hubby and your furry family. Thanks for sharing these gorgeous pics.

    1. Hi Michelle, so good to hear from you! And thank you for your kind words! I’m really glad you added Letchworth to your “to see” list, it’s a definite must. They have cabins you can stay in too if you’re into that sorta thing. We’ve never stayed in them because they don’t allow dogs, but I’ve heard they’re nice. They do have areas too if you want to bring your own camper (I wish! Someday maybe) Oh and here’s the train information if you’re curious: http://www.arcadeandatticarr.com/ It’s probably about a half hour to forty-five minutes west of the park depending on which end you’re coming from. Hope you and your family are doing well. Thanks again for stopping by, Happy Fall πŸ™‚

      1. I can’t find the comment button. I am directionally challenged after all. The other great part of growing up in Brooklyn and taking those rides to the Hudson Valley every fall, was taking the railroad.

        Thanks for the pictures and the memories. You know, there is nothing quiet as delicious as a train ride into the woods πŸ™‚

        1. You’re welcome! And no worries πŸ™‚ Some people like comments and for the life of me, I can’t figure out how to do that. Oh, I bet the Hudson Valley is gorgeous in the fall! And a train ride out there would make it even better. Thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

