Secret to Professional Success

Punctuation

What does it take to be successful in today’s cutthroat world? I should start off by saying I work a day job in the legal field where it’s all out hunger games twenty-four seven, so maybe it’s not as bad as I think. But hey, everyone can always use a little help with getting ahead. So in honor of September being back to school month and in contribution to Webucator’s 2014 Most Marketable Skills Campaign I’d like to share one of the secrets to success…

Fabulous Writing

Okay, it doesn’t have to be fabulous, but strong professional writing is a must. In my day job it’s a little scary the amount of people who struggle with it, especially new grads. I think with today’s Twitter and texting culture where 140-characters rule, it’s starting to seep into the workplace. A place it definitely doesn’t belong! I mean, you tell me, which looks better:

Example one: Plz call me 2 arrange interview. Thank u.

Example two: Please call me at {number} to arrange an interview. Thank you.

Yeah, I actually saw example one on a cover letter before. And don’t even get me started on cover letters… I’m lucky if people send them anymore. I think right away you could set yourself apart if you include one with your resume. It shows the company that you’re willing to go the extra step and gives you an opportunity to build your brand. So let those snazzy writing skills shine.

And don’t panic if you’re not a pro with all the little nuances of writing… I’m definitely not… so here are a couple of my cheat sites to help you out:  Grammar Girl and Purdue OWL. And if you’re thinking, psh, I got these writing skills covered (great!), but I may need a little brush up with my Microsoft programs then check out Webucator’s FREE self-paced classes. I mean, who doesn’t love free? And there are even some programming classes that I’m going to check out myself. Always good to stay up-to-date with your skills.

Good luck to everyone!

Post on behalf of a blogging opportunity presented by Webucator

13 thoughts on “Secret to Professional Success

    1. Hey! Yeah, I’ve been a little MIA, just been concentrating on my books. But I’ve missed you! How have you been? Congratulations on passing your test! That’s awesome! And thanks 🙂 It’s one of my favorites, always makes me laugh.

      1. I’m great. How’s the first year in the new house going? enjoying the seasons in a different place? it’s good you’ve been working on your books. I’ve been busy with school and stuff with my mom…she’s been really sick – back and forth from Richmond to Tampa a few times. This time I am going down Sunday to pack her up and move her to TN with her two younger sisters. Lots of craziness there and possible legal action against her thieving roommate involved. other than that, really enjoying life. I was wondering about you and then….there you are! I think you and have discussed food destinations….Saveur Magazine has named Richmond as one of the top five destinations for foodies. I am very proud!

        1. New house is beyond wonderful! Just love it! Thank you for asking 🙂 I’m so sorry to hear your Mom’s been sick. That has to be really tough. I always hate seeing my Mom that way and it definitely doesn’t get any easier the older they become. And I don’t know how you’ve been balancing everything between your schooling and traveling, wow! Hope your trip went well Sunday and you were able to get your Mom all situated. That has to be difficult for her (and you too I’m sure!), but hopefully things will be better without a problematic roommate. I once had a roommate that stole from me too… it’s such a headache. Good luck with all of it and I really hope it works out in your favor! Oh wow, that’s awesome for Richmond! Congratulations! I’ll have to scour the web for some articles about it 🙂 So good hearing from you, thanks again for brightening my day!

      1. I’ve been swamped with CREATURES!! One of the human’s grown creatures had a new one in May! They flew up here from Oklahoma just to let the new Creature bite my tail!! (dang humans)! It’s 4 months old now and it’s trying to hurry up and get its teeth so it can get my tail – lucky fur me he can’t yet!

          1. Oh everyone around here adores the little dude- (but he doesn’t have me fooled- I saw him eyeing me)! I know he just can’t wait till he can also chase me all over the place and flatten my ears! *(tail FLAP)!*

    1. Great, thank you! I’m good, just been busy working on my books. I just can’t seem to type fast enough, either that or there isn’t enough hours in the day. How are you? How’s your summer going (or went rather)? I can’t believe it’s technically fall already. Where is the time going? And I can’t believe your adorable granddaughter is a year old! I think she gets cuter by the day 🙂

      1. I’m doing well, thanks. We’ve had a busy summer with our sweet Josie moving, visiting our son and his family in Boston. Then add to that, we’ve been finishing our basement. My husband did a lot of the work, but we had plumbers and an electrician do their thing. We are finished, final inspection tomorrow. Now we have a huge job cleaning up. It’s been a tough summer for reading and blogging. At night I’m too tired to do anything but collapse.
        Josie is a very photogenic little girl AND she loves getting her picture taken. I’m so fortunate that my daughter-in-law sends me videos and photos nearly every day. Even though we are on opposite sides of the country, I feel as though I am part of her growing up. One year old just astonishes me. I don’t know where the time went.
        Take care. Good luck with your writing.

        1. Oh I hear ya about being tired. Never enough hours in the day. So glad everything is going well for you though! Finishing the basement sounds like a lot of work. We’re going to be doing that ourselves in the next few years (hopefully, if everything goes according to plan). Aw, that’s so nice of your daughter-in-law. Technology, even though sometimes I really hate it, has really helped to keep families in touch. Thanks so much for visiting and it was wonderful to hear from you 🙂 Take care and good luck with everything!

Leave a Reply

