100 Reasons Why I Love You

Wedding

Last week my husband and I had a little argument.  And it went a something like this…

Me: “I just want you to do a little something on Valentine’s Day.  Last year you didn’t even acknowledge it with a text or anything.  Sometimes I just want to feel special on that day.” 

Him sheepishly looking at the floor: “I  know and I want to do something, but I just don’t know what.”

Me: Silent (woo go me)

Him: “And I know I’m a lazy husband and I should do more for you because you deserve more.”

Me: “Well, I didn’t marry you for your romantic ways.” (yeah that sounds like I deserve more)

Him with sad puppy dog eyes: “Why did you marry me then?” 

I think right then my heart shattered into a million pieces.  Much deserved too.  Especially when I mumbled something pathetic like “because I love you” or whatever greeting card reason you’d like to fill in the blank with. He accepted the answer, but I still felt terrible inside.  So terrible that I vowed to make Valentine’s Day special for him.  You see, I’m blessed with this husband that would walk through fire if it would make me happy.  He’s not someone who does sweeping romantic gestures, instead he does something better… he makes every day special through small things that sometimes go unnoticed or are taken for granted or worse simply forgotten…

Things like:

Shoveling the driveway
Making dinner
Giving me foot massages
Watching tv shows I want to watch
Cleaning the bathrooms
Listening to my ranting
Putting up with my neurosis
Sending me a simple text message that lights up my day
Writing me beautiful cards for no reason
Going out in the cold to get dinner
Always asking me if I need anything from the store
Dancing with me for no reason
Always saying I love you
Always apologizing and putting the good of our relationship first, even if I don’t
… the list goes on and on.

I don’t deserve someone like him.  Not after how I behaved.  Sure, Maybe it’s because I had a terrible week at work and felt truly under appreciated, so maybe I took it out on him.  Or maybe crappy social media distorted my views because everyone kept posting exciting Valentine’s Day things.  Those are not excuses though.  And to try and make-up for my selfish behavior I stayed up until 2am writing a list of reasons why I love and married him, which I’m giving to him tonight.  It’s a start, but don’t worry I have much more planned to make this day special for him.  And I hope all of you have a very wonderful weekend too!

Happy Valentine’s Day everyone!

100 Reasons Why I Love You and Married You

  1. You’re caring
  2. You’re tender and compassionate
  3. You love animals just as much as I do
  4. You paid on our first date
  5. Heck, you asked me if I was okay on the bad snowy night before we even met
  6. Your sexy smile and handsome face
  7. How you didn’t mind that I made you wait
  8. Because you introduced me to your entire family… on our third date… at a wedding!
  9. You cook me delicious meals
  10. You help with the cleaning and do all the icky stuff I hate
  11. You’ve always taken care of me when I was sick or just having a bad day
  12. You made me feel whole again
  13. Because I’m not afraid to be myself around you
  14. You believe in me and help me see the good in myself
  15. You showed me that there are nice men out there who will do anything for the one they love
  16. Because you were the first guy who looked into my eyes, told me you loved me, and really meant it
  17. Your amazing hugs that can make any bad day better
  18. Even on my worst days when I’m ready to give up, you’re always there with a smile, a hug, and a listening ear
  19. Because you’re my best friend and the one I can’t imagine my life without
  20. You’re the one I want to grow old with, sit with on our front porch swing, hold hands, watch the sunset and just be together till our last days.
  21. No matter what life throws at us, I know we’ll always get through because we have each other
  22. Because you’re my rock and without you I would not be able to stand
  23. Your easy-going nature compliments my angry hulk
  24. Because I know when I’m thinking an evil thought, you’re sitting right there thinking the same thing
  25. You make me be a better person
  26. You help me navigate social scenes that leave me an anxious mess
  27. Because we both enjoy staying home, eating Chinese take-out, watching our shows and just being us together
  28. Out of all the women in the world your cute self could have had, you chose me and only me
  29. You always tell me I’m beautiful and mean it from the bottom of your heart
  30. No matter where we are or what we’re doing, because I’m with you everything becomes the best
  31. You make me want to get out of bed in the morning, even if it’s just to see you for a few minutes a day
  32. I would give you my life just so you could live one more day
  33. Because you are everything I never thought I needed
  34. Because I knew if all I had was you, it would be enough
  35. Just the site of you instantly calms my nerves and gives me strength I never knew I had
  36. No matter the road we’re on or where we’re going, I knew I wanted you with me
  37. From the moment I met you, it felt like you completed me
  38. In your arms I always feel safe and secure
  39. Being with you reminds me of what’s most important in life
  40. Because life is worth living with you in it
  41. A simple text message from you brightens even the worst days
  42. You were the first guy I let see me without makeup on and you told me I was beautiful anyway
  43. You weren’t afraid to show me your softer side
  44. No matter how surly I can be, I know you’ll still be there for me
  45.  You’ll hold my hand for no reason and it gives me warm and fuzzies
  46. How you look into my eyes, so full of love, and I could never imagine having anyone else look at me that way
  47. You always try your hardest to make me happy even if you don’t know what to do or it’s something you don’t want to do
  48. When I read or watch the Notebook, Noah always always reminds me of you
  49. You always let me sleep in
  50. I didn’t realize what I was missing in life until I met you
  51. I trust you with my life and would give you my last dying breath
  52. You show me that you love me in the simplest of ways
  53. You hold me tight, let me cry, and kiss my tears away
  54. Because we both think alike on the important things in life
  55. We’re comfortable together, so much that we can sit in silence and just enjoy being together
  56. When someone asks where is home, I think of you
  57. Because you’re willing to put up with me and stay by my side no matter how weird, annoying, angry, sad or selfish I can be
  58. Because every time I see an elderly couple I think of you and how I want to grow old with you
  59. You let me stick my cold hands and feet on you
  60. Because you’re always willing to help, even if that means just being there to support me
  61. I never felt I had to impress you; you liked me for who I am
  62. You have a kind heart and an honest soul who I knew would always take care of me
  63. You always apologize (even if it’s my fault) and put the good of our relationship before yourself
  64.   You’re not  afraid to give yourself to me 100% and you didn’t run away when we talked of a future together
  65. You always know just what I want and just want I need, even if I don’t
  66. Because when I turn into the angry hulk, you don’t get angry back
  67. Because you’re not perfect and neither am I, but together I think we make a pretty good team
  68. When you laugh your whole face lights up and so do I
  69. How you would always call me, every day, without fail, even if you were miles away and too exhausted to stand up
  70. How we fit just right together, especially when we cuddle in bed
  71.  You have a really cute butt
  72. How you will dance with me even if there’s no music and no reason to
  73. You never judge me and accept me for me
  74. Because your kisses give me butterflies
  75. When I met you, I knew you were made for me
  76. On my last day on this Earth, I want to spend it with you
  77. The thought of coming home to you is all I need to get me through the day
  78. Because you’re the only man I’ve ever fallen in love with
  79. Every love song I hear, especially Alan Jackson’s Living on Love or Bon Jovi’s Living on a Prayer or his Born to Be my Baby song or Bryan Adams Everything I Do I Do It For You or our song Edwin McCain’s I’ll Be, I always think of you
  80. You didn’t get upset when that waiter at Friday’s on our first date flirted with me
  81. You’re the one I want to build a future with
  82. How you close your eyes and lean into my touch
  83. When we’re in a crowd of people you always make me feel like I’m the only one for you
  84. Because you’ll go on walks for me and wait for me if I can’t keep up
  85. How you always ask if I need something from the store or wherever you’re going, even if you’re not going there
  86. How our brains work differently, even if it makes us argue, because it helps us see all the angles and in the end I know we’ll be able to figure out any problem life throws at us
  87. Because you do little romantic things for me every day, even if it’s a simple foot massage or saying I love you all the time
  88. Because you respect me, even if I don’t deserve it all the time
  89. Because you make me feel like anything is possible, especially if I have you by my side
  90. How you look like a cute innocent little boy when you’re sleeping
  91. How I would catch you looking at me with such love in your eyes, I’d melt inside
  92. How you’re willing to sacrifice in order to take care of us and our furry family
  93. You don’t shy away from affection in public
  94. You always take the time to thank me for doing things, even for things I think you would never notice
  95. Because you don’t mind spending what little free time you have with me and that makes me feel like the most special person in the whole world
  96. You inspire me to be a better and more positive person… after all you’ve been through in your life, you’re still able to see the good in things and have taught me to take things one day at a time
  97. How you’re willing to share everything
  98. Because you’re romantic in your own way from catching a sunset together, to playing some jazz while we eat, to writing me beautiful cards, to helping me create delicate gardens, to holding my hand while we walk, to glancing at me with those loving eyes, to knowing just the right words for any situation, to rubbing my back because you know it always calms me down…
  99. You’re always willing to talk even if you’ve had a long day and just want to go to bed
  100. I love you for you!!  You’re the best thing that’s ever happened to me.  You’re my teammate, my best friend, my lover, and the one I want to grow old with.  You’re the one I would do anything for and give anything to.  You’re my one and only and I could never imagine my life without you.  Happy Valentine’s Day!!

Be sure to go to Better Than Chicken Soup for more inspiration!

And if you need gift ideas check these out

21 thoughts on “100 Reasons Why I Love You

    1. I’m so glad you liked it 🙂 Phew, I always get nervous putting such personal things out there. Thanks so much guys, love getting responses like this 🙂 I hope you guys have a wonderful Valentine’s Day filled with lots of love and treats 🙂 xoxo

    1. Thank you so much! I hear you… I definitely like the every day treats instead of once a year. Sometimes I just forget how much he really does, but making the list and reflecting definitely helped remind me. I hope you have a fantastic Valentine’s Day filled with lots of love 🙂

  1. 100 great reasons, Stephanie. Isn’t it great that your husband is such a gem. And I feel equally lucky for also being married to my personal gem. Happy Valentine’s Day! 🙂

  2. You have just proved how the calendar shouldn’t dictate WHEN we should have an emtional response–I call those create-some-guilt dates. I love my family everyday and don’t need Hallmark to get that message across. Now birthdays are a different matter.

    1. Awww, thank you so much!! You’re making me blush 🙂 I can’t tell you how thankful I am that we found each other. Truly lucky. I hope you had a wonderful Valentine’s Day!

Leave a Reply

