SOS: Need Help and Opinions

FrazzledCat

Hi everyone,

So I’m still internetless at our new house.  Ugh.  BUT it has given me a lot of time to think of ideas for my blog (and of course unpack, yuck).  And I need your help with a few things…

I’ve been wanting to add an interview section to my blog, but first I wanted to get some input from my readers (many thanks–love you all!).  If you guys would be so kind and help me out I would really appreciate it!

Questions

  1. Would you be interested in seeing some interviews?
  2. What kinds of people would you like to read about?
  3. What interviews do you find interesting?

And here’s some ideas I had.  Let me know what you think!

  • Interview authors (indie, bloggers, and otherwise) on their reading/writing habits and other things too.
  • Interview professionals in the writing world (editors, graphic artists, writers, bloggers…)
  • Interview people about their reading habits and what books they recommend.
  • Interview people about their careers (any careers, blogging, medical examiner, mechanic, and otherwise).
  • Any combo of above, wildcard, random off the wall interviews…

I’m very open to suggestions… nothing is too off the wall 🙂

Also, I’ve been thinking of starting a gratitude section because I’ve been a wee-bit stressed out.  When I did my Thirty Days of Thanks and over the summer, when I started reflecting on the good things in my life, I felt much less frazzled.  And let me tell you, around the holidays I am a big ball of stress!  But I need a personal internet connection before I can start this.  So… fingers crossed that technician comes soon!  In the meantime… more thinking and idea generating 🙂

21 thoughts on “SOS: Need Help and Opinions

  1. Your idea of interviewing editors sounds interesting. Especially editors who are looking for new clients. Also, if you can, it would be interesting to read about agents and their blogs.
    I also like your gratitude idea. Good luck.

    1. Great! Thank you for your suggestions, so appreciated! I love your idea of interview agents… I’m leaning towards doing a mixed interview section with focus on indie authors and book publishing professionals, so agents would fit right now. Perfect 🙂 Thanks again!

    1. Hi guys! Thanks for your input, very helpful! I’ve been leaning towards kinda doing a mixed interview section with focus on indie authors. But it probably won’t happen for a little while. Gotta come up with questions and design it first. Oh yeah and I need that pesky personal internet connection 😀 Such a pain not having internet at home. Hope you have a great week!

  2. I like hearing from plain old people like me – their reading habits, what they read, enjoy, recommend – how they feel about ereaders and the idea of carrying around a custom picked library with them. Please don’t take this amiss, but authors are always interviewed – us civilians and civilian bloggers, not often. Few people ask us about what we enjoy riding, to give an example or two of a work or two of which they are most proud, what prompts us to write. We read the books, we buy the books, we write, we dream. I’d like some interviews with us non-professionals. I have a 1000+ books on my Kindle and right now, eight books on my bedside table in various states of being read or re-read. There are many people out there like me – voracious readers and some of us who write.

    1. Oh this is great! Thank you so very much for your suggestions and taking the time to write such a detailed and helpful response! I love it! I’m leaning towards doing a mixed interview section, focusing on indie authors, every day bloggers, book professionals, and I think your ideas will fit in perfectly. Love your example questions too… I might have to steal a few of those. And wow… I can’t believe you have so many books. That’s awesome! Definitely would love to pick your brain about stuff. I’ll be keep you in mind as I prepare my questions and everything. Probably won’t get this up and going though for another month or so. Still don’t have a personal internet connection, ugh, and I’m so behind on everything. But I’m super excited to plan and you’ve given me some great ideas, thank you!

      1. Thank you. I didn’t think of indie authors….great source! So many good bloggers out there who are prolific and of varied reading habits. I would be interested once you get this done in reading the results. i always like to see what others read and why and how/if it affects their blogging. Great idea!!! 🙂 Hope you get that internet back soon. I know how annoying it is to be without it.

  3. I would definitely like to read author interviews, What is really interesting to me is how an author decides to use a location or a specific item (for instance, Therese Walsh choosing to use a ‘keris’ in THE LAST WILL OF MOIRA LEAHY). How did the author decide on the conflict? Was an outline used? Did the story turn out differently than the author originally planned? Some authors whip out a book or two a year, while others take several years to write one. What was the author doing (or where was he/she) when the idea for the story first began to percolate it’s way into her thoughts.

    You are an ambitious lady to take this on. I’ve thought about it many times, but I have a hard enough time keeping up with reading and writing.

    Best of luck to you, my friend. Looking forward to your blog, as always.

    1. Oh great! Thank you so much for your help! Can’t tell you how much I appreciate it 🙂 And your suggestions are super helpful! I never thought about why an author uses a specific location or item (now I’ll probably wonder about it in every book I read). And I may just have to steal some of your question ideas… I love them all! Such good ideas, thank you my friend 🙂

      Oh, and tell me about it… I keep thinking I’m crazy for wanting to do this. But I keep coming back to it and I think the hardest part will be the planning and prep work. After that I’ll probably get into a rhythm and it won’t be so bad. I hope. Sometimes I tend to over-estimate the amount of time I have to do things, so… we shall see haha.

      p.s. Love the pictures of your grandbaby!! Adorable! Looking forward to seeing more of her 🙂

    1. Hi guys! Ugh, tell me about it. I’m itching to get going on things… terrible having no personal internet connection. Never realized how much I relay on it. Or how much time packing, moving, and unpacking take… so behind on everything. But thank you for understanding and thank you so very very much with your kind words on your post. I’m heading back over there in a minute to finish reading… thanks again! 🙂 p.s. Colberto has adjusted just fine and I think he loves this new house much more than the old one, so yay!

    2. Dear Stephanie, we couldn’t keep our promise to write down our answersfor the above questions, we are sorry about that.
      1) yes, we would love to read the interview section at your blog.
      2) for us the situation is a little bit different. One day we may read the interview about a person whom we may find not interesting or we may choose not to read the interview of a personwhom we like too much! We are here and there to receive good energy. And this doesn’t mean that we chase always for happy news. It could be a sad sharing from a weblog author friend of ours, we share his/her sorrow, only may support with a simple comment, but it is more than that for us. And there is good energy there, nothing else. We think it all starts with you! The most important thing for us is to feel that you have enjoyed doing the interview with the related person. It would be all over the interview whether you’ve had fun or not.
      What is interesting to you and whatever you bake with love for us, as a guest, we would appreciate it.
      3) we may have covered the both answers for 2&3 together at 2. The kind of interviews that you feel comfortable and energetic would reflect your super creativity. I would like to feel good, have a little bit of educative information (but a little achievable).
      Thank you 🙂
      Hope that you would both enjoy and share your art with us!
      Servant Z &Yelloz

      1. Hey guys! Thanks so much for your help! I’m so glad you like the interview idea too 🙂 And what great thoughts on energy and making sure to have fun in the interview. Love it! Thank you so much, you’ve been a big help 🙂 And I’ll definitely try to integrate various types of questions so you can get a good feel of everything. Thanks again!! 🙂

  4. It sounds like you have some great ideas. Looking forward to you getting the internet connection up so you can execute them. What ever you decide to do, just make sure it is fun for you and doesn’t become a chore. Getting stuck in a schedule grind can be a stress generator.

    Good luck
    Jerry B

    1. Hi Jerry! Thanks for stopping by and nice to meet you 🙂 Also, thank you for your suggestions too… I totally know what you mean getting stuck in a schedule grind. Been there! I think once I get everything set up it won’t be so bad. Plus, I’ve been thinking about this for a while and love reading interviews myself, so I hope it will be something I enjoy. And I really hope it will be something everyone else enjoys too. Thanks for the support on it! I appreciate it so much! Good luck to you too!

    1. Awww, I missed you too Shrimp!! And don’t worry I’ll try not to… it’s tough surviving without the internet for so long. Ohhh… cat and dog interviews would be awesome! Such a good idea. I’m shooting for a mixed type interview section, focusing on indie authors, bloggers, and book professionals, but it’s always good to spice it up with something totally different. I like it, thank you! And thank you so much for the nomination. It might be a bit before I get to it, but don’t worry I won’t forget 🙂 And congratulations to you too!! ❤

      1. Yes, i still have other awards i haven’t posted about yet. I know how hard it is to not have the internet at home. The Dang humans cut off their internet because their computers have a problem connecting. (that’s no excuse! The morons…) so I can only post from the smartphone….(I think it’s a conspiracy)…

Leave a Reply

