Liebster Award

Liebster Award discover new blogs!

The first Saturday of the year I recieved a wonderful surprise!  Michiko McElfresh over at Economics Courageous  nominated me for the Liebster award.  Now I’ve actually never seen a post about this award, so I had no idea what it was, but once I did a little research… turns out it’s a pretty darn cool award.  It’s a “discover new blogs” award from one blogger to another to help you attract new followers.  And I owe many many thanks for Michiko for nominating me!  Thank you thank you!  Made my day 🙂 especially because this award is kinda different than the others… you’ll see in a minute… and I had a blast with it!

Thank you again Michiko and be sure to check out her blog.  I think you’ll find some very interesting things over there; I know I have!

Here are the rules:

1. Thank the person who nominated you and link to their blog.

2. You must answer the 10 questions given to you by the nominee before you.

3. You must nominate 10 of your favorite blogs with fewer than 200 followers and notify them of their nomination.

4. You must come up with 10 questions for your nominees to answer–my nominees can answer the questions that I answered above.

Q&A time… 10 questions to answer, so here we go:

1. What was your first job?

Shoveling horse crap.  I grew up on a farm and in high school I started working at other horse farms in the area.  Wasn’t as bad as it sounds… until winter time.  When temperatures drop below freezing and you’re working outside, it doesn’t matter how fast you shovel… you’ll never get warm.  Ever.

2.  Why did you start blogging?

Let’s see… I always wanted to try blogging because my passion is writing, but I never knew what to blog about.  I’m a fiction writer, so what’s a fiction writer to do?  I tried a few different things at first, but nothing stuck.  Then I gave up for a bit.  Tried re-working my ideas, thought they sucked, so I threw my hands up in the air and decided to blog about whatever I feel like blogging about.  I try to stay around the books/writing theme, but sometimes you gotta be a little random to spice things up 😉

3.  What kind of family did you grow up in?

A small loving family 🙂  We of course had our issues (doesn’t everyone?), but I wouldn’t trade them for the world.  They’ve made me who I am today and helped guide me down my path in life.  Even though I had some bumps and bruises along the way, I would never change my journey because that’s what led me to my husband and our furry family.  Something I’m more thankful for every day.

4.  What is the most expensive thing you have ever purchased?

Our house… more specifically our new house that we’re moving into as I type.  *Gulp*

5.  Is this where you thought you be at this age?

Hmmm… if you ask teenage me that would be a resounding hell no.  I secretly wanted to be a writer, but everyone pooh-pooh that idea saying I would be poor, a failure, etc. etc.  So I buried it and figured I would be this huge career woman with the corner office or some kind of big-shot doctor making lots of money.  And if you asked me if I wanted to be married and have children someday… I would have laughed in your face.  Funny how things change.

But if you ask college me (i.e. early twenties), I’d say parts of my life yes.  Like my husband, our house, our furry family… that’s everything I finally realized I wanted back then.  BUT a big part of my life (i.e. career) I wold still say frick no.  At that point back then, I was focusing on my professional ballroom dance career.  Then my knee broke (literally… I had a hole in my femur) and ended that.  Never did I imagine I would still be in this soul-sucking day job that I took as a temporary fix until I could figure out my next move.  But I am working hard on changing that!  Hoping these next two years are my “break-out” years for writing!

6.  What is your favorite place that you’ve ever visited?

There’s still so many places I haven’t visited… but out of the limited ones I have… oy, this is a toughy.  Boston was a really cool historic place.  Charleston, South Carolina with its southern charm won me over.  But the New York State’s finger lakes during peak fall time is probably my overall favorite place.  It’s so breathtakingly beautiful and stopping at a few wineries along the way doesn’t hurt either.

7.  If you could travel anywhere, where would you go?

Well, like I said I haven’t visited many places yet and on my bucket list I have a goal to visit all 50 states and some other countries.  I guess the first place I really want to go is somewhere in Maine during the fall.  Or out west to Seattle, Washington where we could rent a car and drive down the west cost, hitting spots like Portland, Oregon; San Francisco; Napa Valley, California; Los Angeles; San Diego.  Or maybe England… I’ve always wanted to see London.

8.  What is your favorite movie? 

I’m not a big movie person; I would much rather read a book.  But… I guess it’s a toss-up between Pretty Woman, a League of their Own, Footloose (80’s version), Wall-E (I have a thing for animated kid’s movies), and Silence of the Lambs.

9.  Cat or dog person?

Both!  Although, cats do hold a special place in my heart.  I’d say 51% cats and 49% dogs.  Only because dogs test my patience more often than cats.

10. Your favorite book?

Save the hardest question for last, huh?  Well… oh boy, I don’t know.  I’m just going to list a bunch of my all-time favorites and leave it at that.  In no particular order: Hannibal by Thomas Harris, Kiss the Girls by James Patterson, Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom, Velveteen Rabbit by Margery Williams, Girl with a Pearl Earring by Tracy Chevalier, The Giver by Lois Lowry… I guess that’s good enough for now 🙂

Nominations:

f you don’t do awards or have already received these, please just take it as a token of my appreciation for how wonderful your blogs are. You deserve it!

1. Book Chat

2. Dreamzandclouds

3. Cleopatra Loves Books

4. Purrfectkitties

5. Hairballexpress

6. Paws for Thought

7. quirkybooks

8. Playful Kitty

9. My Train of Thoughts on…

10. Where words daily come alive

And that is it!

Congratulations everyone!

13 thoughts on “Liebster Award

  1. Congratulations on this beautiful award, dear Stephanie! And thank you soooo much for nominating us! What a great way to start the week!! We’re truly thrilled! 😀

    Have a PURRFECT day!
    xoxo Roxy & Tigerlino ❤

  2. Greetings human! Thank you fur the nomination! (purrs) _ and CONCATULATIONS!
    It’s exciting to win an award- and especially a new one I’ve never seen before! I’m way behind in my award postings though- hopefully I can get this one posted now, then work my way backwards…? *(stretch)*

    1. You’re very welcome and thank you so much! No worries… I’m always behind myself… but there’s no rush. Just wanted to recognize your amazing blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

