12 Gifts of Christmas for Book Lovers – Day 12

What if you have to shop for that tough-to-buy-for book lover?  Do you get  them a book?  What if they have it already?  Or, worse, what if they don’t like it?  I once gave someone a book I thought they would like because it was listed under the “customers also bought” section of Amazon.  Well… let me tell you… the recipient opened the book, stared at it, stared at me, didn’t even crack it open or read the blurb and asked for the receipt to return it.  I’ll never forget the look on their face and I never want any of you to experience that.  So what do you do?  Easy, give them something literary related!  And so, I present to you, Santa’s 12 Gifts of Christmas Bookworm Style.

On the twelfth day of Christmas Santa gave to me…

A nook or kindle or some type of e-reader!  Of course, this list wouldn’t be complete without one of these.  Although, this might ruffle the feathers of an old skool true blue book lover (myself included), I think after they start to use it they will like it.  At least that’s been my experience.  Do I love it more than a real book?  No, but it is pretty handy for reading indie books or pdf versions or even just books that you don’t want cluttering your shelves.  And I do love it for magazines!  Then you don’t have to kill trees, er I mean throw them away, month after month or have them laying around creating dust bunny chaos.  If anything, it is a fun device… welcome to the dark side!

8 thoughts on “12 Gifts of Christmas for Book Lovers – Day 12

  1. Hey Stephanie, our human loves her Kindle, but still maintains bookshelves worth of paperbacks/hardbacks. She usually buys hardback/paperback editions of her favorite ebooks…

    xoxo Roxy & Tigerlino 😉

    1. Me too! I’m so old school and am finding it hard to give us the paperbacks. Just love the feel and look of a book so much more than a screen. I’m glad I’m not alone 🙂

  2. I agree. This is one of the most practical, useful gifts any book lover would want to receive for Christmas. Thankfully, I’m never without an e-reader, whether it’s my iPod, my Nexus 7 or simply my laptop. I always have a book with me! It really is the best gift a reader could receive!

    1. I’m with you 🙂 I’m learning to love mine and am finding it pretty handy for traveling or any other boring periods when I need a book, instead of lugging a bunch of heavy paperback/hardcovers with me.

  3. Greetings human. I hope you had a Pawsome Christmas and that you didn’t get stuck with a bunch of dumb partridges and pear trees. But I’d you did, I’ll take care of the partridges fur you.

    You’re on your own with the pears.

    Shrimp

Leave a Reply

