Thirty Days of Thanks for Books – Day 30

Life Speak“Before I can tell my life what I want to do with it, I must listen to my life telling me who I am.”

~ Parker J. Palmer, Let your Life Speak

For the month of November, I’d like to give thanks to some of my favorite books.  Key word being some because unfortunately there isn’t enough days to honor all the books I love.  So I’ve issued myself the challenge to do thirty days of thanks for books… and today I am thankful for…

Day 30 – Let your Life Speak by Parker J. Palmer

Let your soul speak to you.  No matter how crazy, unexpected or frowned upon it is, you have to live the life that wants to live in you.  That’s the core idea of this little book.  Usually I don’t go for the new-age motivation type books.  Don’t get me wrong, there’s nothing wrong with them, they’re just not for me.  But when I was in the pits of depression, unsure where to go with my life, what to do or even what I wanted out of a career this book spoke to me.  It grabbed me right from when I cracked it open to the very last word and it didn’t let go.  Plus its message pretty much changed my life… once I let go of all the preconceived notions, head shaking, dismayed looks and denial… once I opened my heart and allowed myself to feel happy, I discovered what I truly wanted to do.  Write novels.  I want to be a writer.  Writing is the life that wants to live inside me.  When I’m writing it’s as if nothing else matters in the world.  It’s all I can focus on and all I want to do.  Often I get so consumed in it I forget to feed myself or look presentable or move (ouch!), but I don’t care because I’m so excited to write.  It just feels… perfect.  And I’m so thankful this book helped me get over my fear of upsetting people, so I could realize that.

Leave a Reply

