Thirty Days of Thanks for Books – Day 27

Notebook“I am nothing special, of this I am sure. I am a common man with common thoughts and I’ve led a common life. There are no monuments dedicated to me and my name will soon be forgotten, but I’ve loved another with all my heart and soul, and to me, this has always been enough..”

~ Nicholas Sparks, The Notebook

For the month of November, I’d like to give thanks to some of my favorite books.  Key word being some because unfortunately there isn’t enough days to honor all the books I love.  So I’ve issued myself the challenge to do thirty days of thanks for books… and today I am thankful for…

Day 27 – The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks

So I have a love hate relationship with this book.  I love the story.  It’s a timeless tale about lost love.  Noah, upon returning from World War II, wants to find the girl who stopped him in his tracks ten years before.  And Allie, about to marry a wealthy lawyer, can’t stop thinking of the mysterious boy who enchanted her ten years ago.  Fate pushes them together, but Allie must decided if Noah is worth this risk.  Kinda cliché, actually there are clichés splattered throughout, and a it’s little cheesy in parts.   So why is this book so great then?  All because of two chapters that take place in a nursing home.  And those chapters are why I hate this book, because it makes me cry.  Every time.  Never fails.  Just thinking about the ending makes me tear up.  Ugh!  But it also makes me so very very thankful for my husband. This book, especially the character Noah, reminds me so much of him and our relationship.  When I read those nursing home chapters, I couldn’t help but think of how much I want to grow old with him and never leave his side.  He’s someone I  love with all my heart, someone I can’t imagine my life without, and someone I want to be with till the very end.  I owe major thanks to this book for reminding me of that and then some, but be warned… get those tissues ready!

p.s. That quote at the top is making me tear up!  I’m tellin’ ya… be prepared.

2 thoughts on “Thirty Days of Thanks for Books – Day 27

Leave a Reply

