Thirty Days of Thanks for Books – Day 26

Sidewalk Ends“My beard grows down to my toes, I never wears no clothes,

I wraps my hair, Around my bare, And down the road I goes”

~ Shel Silverstein, Where the Sidewalk Ends

For the month of November, I’d like to give thanks to some of my favorite books.  Key word being some because unfortunately there isn’t enough days to honor all the books I love.  So I’ve issued myself the challenge to do thirty days of thanks for books… and today I am thankful for…

Day 26 – Shel Silverstein –  Where the Sidewalk Ends

Third grade.  That’s when I first read this book and when I first fell in love with poetry, which makes me so thankful.  If I had never read Where the Sidewalk Ends, I fear I may never have found Edgar Allen Poe or Robert Frost or Henry David Thoreau or so many other poets I have come to love.  All because I picked up this goofy book full of silly kid poems.  Oh and the illustrations are fabulous!  I think I liked them just as much as the poetry.

p.s. I’m thankful for all you poets our there too!  I’m always impressed that you can express so much with so few words.  I don’t know how you do it, but I love it!

9 thoughts on “Thirty Days of Thanks for Books – Day 26

    1. Happy Thanksgiving too! I hope you had a delicious day filled with family, love, and laughter 🙂 Oh and lots and lots of treats too!

      Thank you so so much!! Just when I thought this fabulous weekend couldn’t get any better, I came on here and saw this. Made my day!!! 🙂 You guys are the best!!

      Lots of tail scratches and cheek rubs! 🙂 Hope you’re having a great weekend too!

Leave a Reply

