Thirty Days of Thanks for Books – Day 25

The Giver“The worst part of holding the memories is not the pain. It’s the loneliness of it. Memories need to be shared.”

~ Lois Lowry, The Giver

For the month of November, I’d like to give thanks to some of my favorite books.  Key word being some because unfortunately there isn’t enough days to honor all the books I love.  So I’ve issued myself the challenge to do thirty days of thanks for books… and today I am thankful for…

Day 25 – The Giver by Lois Lowry

In a society where everything is controlled and emotions suppressed, young Jonas’s life is about to change.  It’s the ceremony of twelve where he finds out his fate for the rest of his life.  But Jonas receives a position like no other.  He is to receive special training from the Giver, someone who holds all the memories of the true pleasures and pains of life.  A gift that may force Jonas to choose between the society he knows and the society he sees… I loved this book!  Loved, loved, loved it.  Read it over and over.  I consider it my “transition” book too because after I finished off the Goosebumps and Boxcar kids series, this was the first young adult book I chose.  And I’m so thankful I did because it carried over my love of reading from childhood.  Plus, I can’t tell you how thankful I am for how well written this book is.  The precision of language, the vivid descriptions, the subtle yet powerful emotions… love it!

3 thoughts on “Thirty Days of Thanks for Books – Day 25

Leave a Reply

