Thirty Days of Thanks for Books – Day 23

replay“All life includes loss.”

~ Ken Grimwood, Replay

For the month of November, I’d like to give thanks to some of my favorite books.  Key word being some because unfortunately there isn’t enough days to honor all the books I love.  So I’ve issued myself the challenge to do thirty days of thanks for books… and today I am thankful for…

Day 23 – Replay by Ken Grimwood

I have a confession… I haven’t finished this book yet.  I’m currently reading it, but I love it so much I have to include it on the list.  It’s a little like the movie Groundhog’s Day a la sci-fi style.  Jeff Winston drops dead of a heart-attack at forty-three and wakes up back in his old dorm at the age of eighteen.  This time he decides to live a different life, but he ends up dying again on the same day and time.  And repeat.  Every “new” life though he seems to learn an important lesson, one that carries over to the reader… What if you could live your life over again?  That question is the reason I’m thankful for this book.  It makes me think about what matters most and what I would do different with my life.  It’s not too late to change or make amends or pursue that dream or whatever you want to do.  And most importantly, you have to look forward to live your life.  Not backwards.  Not to be cliché, but what’s in the past is done; you can only change the future.  And I’m thankful for that opportunity.

2 thoughts on “Thirty Days of Thanks for Books – Day 23

Leave a Reply

