Thirty Days of Thanks for Books – Day 21

poet“It’s lucky no one else knows what our most secret thoughts are. We’d all be seen for the cunning, self-aggrandizing fools we are.”

~ Michael Connelly, The Poet

For the month of November, I’d like to give thanks to some of my favorite books.  Key word being some because unfortunately there isn’t enough days to honor all the books I love.  So I’ve issued myself the challenge to do thirty days of thanks for books… and today I am thankful for…

Day 21 – The Poet by Michael Connelly

The Poet was Michael Connelly’s “second chance book” because I did not like his first.  And when I read the description of this book I still felt iffy.  A serial killer is targeting haunted homicide cops who never solved a murder case.  And the only thing to go on is his calling card; a quotation of Edgar Allen Poe.  Now a crime beat reporter, Jack McEvoy, is covering the story, but it’s one he doesn’t want because it hits too close to home.  My first thought was a reporter investigating really… and parts of it do feel like a stretch… but the story is so interesting you can overlook them.  Which makes me thankful I gave Connelly a second chance because he’s catapulted to one of my favorite authors.  And more importantly, I’m thankful I read this book because it inspired part of my first novel, that should be published next year.  Fingers crossed!

4 thoughts on “Thirty Days of Thanks for Books – Day 21

  1. Stephanie, all the best with your first book. About Connelly … he is one of my fav detective novelist. I am crazy about Harry Bosch … read the first three (BTW is won an Agatha for his very first novel) … I bought the first three in a set and read them all in less than one week. Aside from great characters and plots, I love his work because he has beautiful prose. When he talks about California he makes me want to jump on a plane 🙂

    1. Thank you so much! I hear ya… I’ve never been to California, but when I read his books I feel like I have. I also like his Mickey Haller legal series too. You’re so right, he’s such a talented writer. Thank you for commenting 🙂

Leave a Reply

