Thirty Days of Thanks for Books – Day 18

King on writing“Just remember that Dumbo didn’t need the feather; the magic was in him.”

~ Stephen King, On Writing

For the month of November, I’d like to give thanks to some of my favorite books.  Key word being some because unfortunately there isn’t enough days to honor all the books I love.  So I’ve issued myself the challenge to do thirty days of thanks for books… and today I am thankful for…

Day 18 – On Writing by Stephen King

To me reading books about writing is like eating vegetables.  You don’t like it, but you know you should do it because it’s good for you.  Plus, half the time it feels like reading a textbook and who wants to read those?  Going into this book that’s what I expected.  Zzzzz.  But oh dear reader I was wrong.  So wrong.  This book is entertaining along with being chock full of excellent advice (I quoted one of my favorites below… not that I follow it very well).  And it’s not only helped me become a better writer, but it’s helped me believe in myself and for that I am thankful.

“The road to hell is paved with adverbs.”

~ Stephen King, On Writing

3 thoughts on “Thirty Days of Thanks for Books – Day 18

  1. My English professor gave us the “W.I.D.L.I.O.” rule regarding the use of commas…”When In Doubt Leave It Out.”

    Enjoy your day.
    Clayton

    1. Oh that’s a great rule! One I need to utilize more often too haha. I always worry I don’t use commas correctly or I don’t use them enough or there’s too many… ugh. I guess that’s why you hire an editor 🙂 Thanks for vising and hope you have a good night!

      1. The, same, to, you, my, dear! He also believed that in writing, if you know the rules, you can break them! Not sure I agree with that one…

        Enjoy your day, 😉
        Clayton

Leave a Reply

