Thirty Days of Thanks for Books – Day 17

Tuesdays“The truth is, once you learn how to die, you learn how to live.”

~ Mitch Albom, Tuesdays with Morrie

For the month of November, I’d like to give thanks to some of my favorite books.  Key word being some because unfortunately there isn’t enough days to honor all the books I love.  So I’ve issued myself the challenge to do thirty days of thanks for books… and today I am thankful for…

Day 17 – Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom

What if you had one last opportunity to tell someone how much they meant to you?  Or spend a few last days on them, which may end up changing your life forever?  Mitch Albom had just that opportunity with his mentor and former professor, Morrie Schwartz.  And afterwards he chronicled the experience in a moving and thoughtful book that I’m forever thankful for because it changed my course in life.  Sure I read it in high school, but back then… I’m almost ashamed to admit… I was obsessed with launching this huge successful career and making tons of money.  Secretly I wanted to be a writer, but everyone told me I would be poor and it would never happen.  So I set my sights on one of the big three: med school, law or business.  Something where I would make the money and impress people.  I had the grades.  Top college accepted me.  I was on my way until I read this book… I don’t know how, but it made me realize so much.  Like how impressions are fleeting, money isn’t the means to happiness and when work consumes a big chunk of your life, you’re going to give up things that in the end will be more important that some stupid meeting.  The message of love, kindness, gratitude, helping one another, dancing, enjoying life… resonated so strongly in me and helped me realize the true priorities in my life.  For that, I can’t be thankful enough!

5 thoughts on “Thirty Days of Thanks for Books – Day 17

  1. Nice reading about you

    Thanks for visiting my blog. Be in touch. Browse through the category sections,
    I feel you may find something of your interest.

Leave a Reply

