Thirty Days of Thanks for Books – Day 15

Pearl Earring“You’re so calm and quiet, you never say. But there are things inside you. I see them sometimes, hiding in your eyes.”

~ Tracy Chevalier, Girl with a Pearl Earring

For the month of November, I’d like to give thanks to some of my favorite books.  Key word being some because unfortunately there isn’t enough days to honor all the books I love.  So I’ve issued myself the challenge to do thirty days of thanks for books… and today I am thankful for…

Day 15 – Girl with a Pearl Earring by Tracy Chevalier

You know how sometimes you’re just wandering around the bookstore and one of the books happens to catch your eye?  Well, that’s what happened to me with this book.  I don’t know why or what drew me to it, but I am ever so thankful something did because I have read this book at least three or four times since then.  What do I like about it so much?  I’m not sure… Maybe it’s the rich 17th century history the author paints in vivid interesting detail.  Or maybe it’s how a young girl, Griet, due to circumstances out of her control, is thrust into a life she must quickly adapt to or else.  Or maybe it’s the illicit relationship between maid Griet and master/painter Johannes Vermeer that’s never explicitly stated, but oh so deliciously obvious.  Whatever it is… I love it!

11 thoughts on “Thirty Days of Thanks for Books – Day 15

  1. I have not read this, but it is going on my list for sure. I really look forward to your posts and can’t even begin to guess which book you will be spotlighting. I am truly going to be sorry when November is over.

    1. Aw, thank you so much! You made my night 🙂 And I’m glad one of the books piqued your interest. It’s a really great read! Oh, and I’ve been trying to think of something to do for December, but haven’t come up with anything yet. Good thing I have a few more weeks.

  2. I love her books, every one takes you deep into a fascinating subject – fossils, weavers, suffragettes, her latest is about runaway slaves. Have you read her other books? SD

    1. Ohhh, she is such a great author! But I haven’t read any others… yet. I have a few on my TBR list tho like The Last Runaway and Burning Bright. Do you have any recommendations?

      1. Difficult, I like them all. I really enjoyed her latest, The Last Runaway. They do stand re-reading too. She is one author whose corner of my bookshelf that I re-visit often. SD

        1. Oh great, thank you! I think I’ll start with that one next. I hear you… I’m not usually a re-reader myself, but there’s been a few special ones like Girl with a Pearl Earring… and Hannibal. Oh the contrast between those two haha.

Leave a Reply

