Thirty Days of Thanks for Books – Day 14

Hunger Games“Happy Hunger Games! And may the odds be ever in your favor.”

~ Suzanne Collins, Hunger Games

For the month of November, I’d like to give thanks to some of my favorite books.  Key word being some because unfortunately there isn’t enough days to honor all the books I love.  So I’ve issued myself the challenge to do thirty days of thanks for books… and today I am thankful for…

Day 14 – Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

A fight to the death watched by everyone in every district.  And at the heart of the matter is teenager Katniss Everdeen who must summon the strength to not only survive, but take on the Capitol who wants revenge no matter the cost.  Author Suzanne Collins has said her inspiration for the books came from the idea of the lines blurring between reality tv and war.  It’s almost like a wake-up call of what our society may be reduced to someday.  For that I’m thankful, because reality tv is always upping the ante and it makes me wonder when will it be enough?  Now we have mothers parading their young children around stage for their 15 minutes of fame.  Or pitting mothers against each other in what is dubbed “realty tv gold“.  Will we eventually have humans hunting humans to satisfy our ever-numbing sensitivity to violence and  increase the titillation factor? I don’t know, but at the rate things are going it wouldn’t surprise me.  Oh and on a more positive note, I love  the name Katniss aka Catnip… so cute!

2 thoughts on “Thirty Days of Thanks for Books – Day 14

Leave a Reply

