Thirty Days of Thanks for Books – Day 11

Fifty Shades“Raising the ordinary to extraordinary”

~ E.L. James, Fifty Shades of Grey

For the month of November, I’d like to give thanks to some of my favorite books.  Key word being some because unfortunately there isn’t enough days to honor all the books I love.  So I’ve issued myself the challenge to do thirty days of thanks for books… and today I am thankful for…

Day 11 – Fifty Shades of Grey

Now I don’t care much for these books, they need a good dose of plot, but I do like the sex in them.  No, no I’m not thankful for that dirty birdies.  I actually thought it quite tame to some other things I’ve read… Story of O anyone?  But what I am thankful for is that I read these books when I was editing my first series book.  Why?  Well, I felt like it was missing something and it didn’t hit me what that was until I read these books.  Sex.  Love.  Romance.  My book needed more chemistry.  Initially, I was aiming for something a la James Patterson style… short chapters, action packed, suspenseful thrillers.  His last few books though have felt stale to me and I never realized why until I read Fifty Shades of Grey.  Chemistry.  So hopefully my books have taken the good from the two and combined them into hot steamy thrillers.  Fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

