Thirty Days of Thanks for Books – Day 10

Hamlet“This above all: to thine own self be true…”

~William Shakespeare, Hamlet

For the month of November, I’d like to give thanks to some of my favorite books.  Key word being some because unfortunately there isn’t enough days to honor all the books I love.  So I’ve issued myself the challenge to do thirty days of thanks for books… and today I am thankful for…

Day 10 – Hamlet by Shakespeare

Aside from Romeo and Juliet and Julius Caesar, we never read much of Shakespeare in school.  So I was one of those geeks who actually read his works on my own time.  All because I had read a little snippet of a soliloquy that goes something like this… To be or not to be… and I became intrigued.  For that I am thankful.  If you’re intrigued, here’s the lowdown… It’s a tale of revenge for a murder in the royal family that drives young Hamlet into the claws of madness.  Oh and if you don’t like that cryptic-English-give-me-a-translator way of speaking, the movie version with Kenneth Branagh isn’t too shabby either.

2 thoughts on “Thirty Days of Thanks for Books – Day 10

  1. I loved reading Hamlet for the first time back in Junior High. I seldom read a book more than once simply because I always have an unending TBR list. Hamlet is the one exception where I have read it multiple times.

    1. Wow, you read it in Junior High! My school didn’t have us read it until our senior year and by then I had already read it 3 or 4 times 🙂 I’m always surprised when people like Hamlet. Most have told me they prefer Romeo and Juliet or A Midsummer Night’s Dream. And I hear ya on the TBR list… same here!

Leave a Reply

