Thirty Days of Thanks for Books – Day 9

Shawshank“Fear can hold you prisoner. Hope can set you free.”

~ Stephen King, Different seasons featuring The Shawshank redemption

For the month of November, I’d like to give thanks to some of my favorite books.  Key word being some because unfortunately there isn’t enough days to honor all the books I love.  So I’ve issued myself the challenge to do thirty days of thanks for books… and today I am thankful for…

Day 9 – Rita Hayworth and the Shawshank Redemption by Stephen King

I’m thankful for this book (novella) because it’s the only book where I liked the movie just as much as the book.  I know *gasp*!  I think I can hear whispers of sacrilege too, but the movie just brings the characters I envisioned alive… even if Red isn’t red.  So what’s it all about?  Well, Andy Dufresne’s life turns upside down when he’s convicted of murdering his wife and her lover.  Thrown into the ranks of Shawshank during the 1940’s, he befriends another prisoner named Red who helps him navigate the tough prison life.  However, Andy has a plan of his own that no one sees coming.  And no one thought possible.  This is one that I could not only watch over and over, but also read over and over again.  So good!

2 thoughts on “Thirty Days of Thanks for Books – Day 9

Leave a Reply

