Thirty Days of Thanks for Books – Day 7

mockingbird book“Until I feared I would lose it, I never loved to read.  One does not love breathing.” ~ Harper Lee

For the month of November, I’d like to give thanks to some of my favorite books.  Key word being some because unfortunately there isn’t enough days to honor all the books I love.  So I’ve issued myself the challenge to do thirty days of thanks for books… and today I am thankful for…

Day 7 – To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

I’m not a big fan of classics.  Kafka, Fitzgerald, Jane Austin, Conrad… bleh.  I’m yawning just thinking about them.  But To Kill a Mockingbird changed everything.  And for that I am thankful because it’s one of the only classics I love.  Set in a small town in Alabama where we meet our narrator Scout.  A small child, she tells the story, through her eyes, of town embroiled in a trial of black vs. white where justice doesn’t always mean fair.  And where her father, Atticus, takes a stand no one is willing to take.  Just thinking about it makes me want to read it again!

6 thoughts on “Thirty Days of Thanks for Books – Day 7

    1. Yay! I have to get another copy too… lost mine somewhere between my parent’s house and all the subsequent moves after. It’s such a good book. Didn’t think I would like it so much when they said we had to read it.

Leave a Reply

