Thirty Days of Thanks for Books – Days 1-6

Books“A room without books is like a body without a soul.” ~ Cicero

For the month of November, I’d like to give thanks to some of my favorite books.  Key word being some because unfortunately there isn’t enough days to honor all the books I love.  So I’ve issued myself the challenge to do thirty days of thanks for books.  Seeing how I just thought this up, oh an hour or so ago… I’m going to play catch up and cram a bunch of books into one post, which I’ve dedicated to one of my favorite authors, James Patterson.  So here goes…

Day 1 – Along Came a Spider

I’m thankful for this book because it is the one that hooked me onto James Patterson (and my Husband too!).  If you haven’t read it… what are you waiting for?  It’s the first in the Alex Cross series and let me tell you, it explodes from the gate.  A young girl and her friend are kidnapped.  A family is murdered.  Alex Cross engages in a steamy love affair.  All while a brilliant split personality psychopath eludes them all.  What’s not to be thankful for?

Day 2 – Kiss the Girls

This book deserves thanks because it’s racy, edgy, and rather unforgettable.  Two killers, competing coast-to-coast, building their “collection” as fast as they can.  Oh and there’s a scene with a snake… I don’t think I’ll ever get the image out of my mind.  This book definitely ranks up there on my list of all-time favorites.

Day 3 – 1st to Die

I give thanks to this book because it was the first thriller to make me cry.  And I didn’t see it coming either.  This is Patterson’s first book in the Lindsay Boxer series and a knockout at that.  Four women team up to stop a killer who fools them all in the end.  Grab the tissues!

Day 4 – Alex Cross’s Trial

I’m thankful for this book because it helped me realize you can be creative and unconventional without losing your voice as a writer.  So what the heck does that mean, right?  Well, this book isn’t your typical James Patterson novel.  It’s more a historical thriller, which makes me think *yawn* boring, but Patterson was able to weave his fast paced action oriented page turning style into it.  And it works beautifully!

Day 5 – Postcard Killers

I’m not a huge fan of Patterson’s stand-alones.  Some I like, some I don’t.  But this one grabbed me from the beginning and didn’t let up till the very end.  And for that I’m thankful because after having read a bunch of his blah-zer-rah (it’s a word, give me credit)  stand-alones, I needed this one.  Young vacationing couples are murdered in gruesome ways with no leads other than a postcard mailed to a local paper before the murders begin.  Can a killer, who’s always one step ahead, stay ahead or will the taunting postcards be the downfall?

Day 6 – Roses are Red

I give thanks to this book because it threw a twist in there I never saw coming.  Here you meet the Mastermind who has precise instructions that must be followed it you want to stay alive.  It’s a touch on the long side for Patterson and drags a little in the middle, but if you get through that, it’s worth it.

Leave a Reply

