Top Ten Writing Tips

About how I feel this week...
About how I feel this week…

I never talk much about my writing on here because, well, I’m never sure what to write about.  Ironic, huh?  But I figured I’ve had my first novel in the Detective Knight series done since the beginning of the year.  And I’m halfway through my second book in the series… only I decided to change the back-story.  Not just a little tweak either, no.  Big huge changes.  So now I have to go back and re-edit the first book, then hand it back off to my betas and hopefully not make too many changes after that.  Fingers crossed!  But don’t hold your breath because knowing me and my perfectionism tendencies… I’ll have plenty to change.

Especially since I’ve started keeping a list of writing tips I’m trying to implement like…

  • Try to use forms of “to be” (i.e. was, were, been, am be) as little as possible. (<—- so bad at this)
  • Avoiding adverbs (those pesky little -ly endings).
  • Describing things that are important and leaving the rest up to imagination.
  • Revise, revise, revise, and when you think it’s awesome… revise again.
  • 80,000 words is the sweet spot for a thriller, but don’t be afraid to write more then cut 10%.
  • Keep it simple… don’t want to use a dictionary every two words.
  • Setting self-imposed deadlines to spur on writing when I feel like procrastinating instead.
  • Short sentences… 30 words max.
  • Create a strong fleshed out outline, but leave room for organic flow.
  • Using a strong active voice and avoiding the passive voice.

You’re probably wondering why I didn’t elaborate on these tips.  Well, I think I’m going to make them into short little blog posts.  If I change my mind (I’m currently experiencing decision fatigue, so I gave up trying to figure out what I wanted to do) then I’ll just do a quick blog post fleshing these out.  Decisions, decisions…. too much for me this week.  But here’s some more good tips to make up for my lack of effort.

What kind of tips do you use?  What’s your favorite piece of writing advice?

Leave a Reply

