Social Media is Ruining Our Lives

I long for days gone by... (Hickory Hill Campground)
I long for days gone by… (Hickory Hill Campground)

Okay, so maybe the title is a bit dramatic.  It’s just this past weekend I had a bout of nostalgia.  And it all started with a stupid candy bar.  Yeah, a candy bar.

On my way home I stopped at a drugstore for a few little things.  Of course, I ventured down the candy aisle because I can’t seem to go into a store without buying some kind of sugary treat.  So I grabbed a few cherry laffy taffy bars for myself and went hunting for a candy bar for my husband.  (I like fruity, he likes chocolate.)  Now I don’t buy candy bars often… okay like ever… unless they’re the miniature variety in a bag and when I saw the price I remembered why.  $1.79.  $1.79 for a stinkin’ candy bar smaller than the length of my palm.  It wasn’t even the “king” sized ones!  Good grief.  Not I’m not real old, but I’m old enough to remember candy bars costing $0.25.  (Ha, I just spent two minutes looking for the cent symbol, remember the c with a vertical line through the middle?  Yeah, probably not.  Who sells things costing less than a dollar these days anyway?)  $0.25 and they were bigger!  Thicker!  More candy for less money!  After I got over the sticker shock, I spotted a pair of big ‘ol butterfingers on sale for $.39 with your “rewards” card.  Thank goodness my husband isn’t picky.  But that silly candy bar set everything in motion for the whole weekend.

Take the next day when I’m working on the business end of writing (marketing, pr, social media, etc.), when I looked over at my bookshelf and felt a stab of, well, nostalgia.  Books are going the way of the dodo bird, which saddens me.  To think that our future kids may not ever set foot in a bookstore.  Or hold a real book in their hands and turn the pages (well, our kids will because I’m hoarding all my books–thanks mom!).  Or write a book and physically see it in print.  So sad.  But then I started seeing the names of authors like James Patterson, Stephen King, John Grisham, Mary Shelly, George Orwell, and think… man, back then the majority of their time involved writing.  And just writing.  None of this figuring out how to market your book or how to promote it or worrying that you’ll have to write five ebooks to one print book just to survive.  It was such a different world back then.  I’m not complaining about social media or how this industry works now… it’s just that it seemed so much… simpler back then.  And some days I really want those simpler times.

I mean, I love this blog and I love you readers, but sometimes I miss things like connecting with someone face-to-face or having a real life conversation or writing a letter to someone.  I think social media has sufficiently killed those things.  Now we text.  Or we go on Facebook to connect.  Or we write a blog post.  I can remember how excited I felt whenever I received a letter in the mail.  (Call me old skool, but I still hand write notes to people when I send cards.)  But now the mail service is in jeopardy, kids learn typing instead of hand writing, and people text instead of talk.  And it makes me wonder if the rise of depression is due to these things.  I know when I’m on Facebook, I often find myself comparing my life to others.  It’s hard not to.  People’s successes and happiness are right there for you to scroll through.  But what if we didn’t have that?  Would people be happier?  I’m not sure…  but I do think without the internet and advanced technology, the world was a much slower and simpler place.

Well, that’s my rant of nostalgia.  Has anyone else felt this way before?  What triggers your nostalgia?  Do you wish for simpler times and less emphasis on social media?  Let me know!

6 thoughts on “Social Media is Ruining Our Lives

  1. Great post 🙂 I can relate to these bouts of nostalgia… So much has changed since I was a kid, and I’m only 23. I had penpals and we wrote each other long, handwritten letters on beautiful stationery. It was always exciting when the postman arrived, to see if he had any new letters for me! Nowadays, we communicate almost only via Facebook (I’m guilty myself!), and we don’t know the pleasure of ‘waiting’ for a message anymore, everything is just instantly there… Anyway, I’ll also try to immerse handwriting and book-reading on my children :p I hope it will never really go away!

    1. Thank you! And thank you so much for your comment 🙂 Pen-pals are awesome… I had a couple too. Like you said, the waiting for the letter was the best part. Sometimes I wonder if the lack of waiting is making people more impatient because everything is so instantaneous nowadays. I hear ya! I’m hoping to immerse those things on our kids too and hope they learn to appreciate the things of the past… even though the past doesn’t seem that long ago! Great comment and thanks again! 🙂

Leave a Reply

