Dear Dad Poem, Reasons Why I Love My Dad… Happy Father’s Day!

My Dad and I
My Dad and I

Dear Dad,

I’ll always be your little girl, the one who shares your love of books and games.  No matter how many times we played, you’d always let me win a few.  And whenever I start to take life too seriously, I remember that even with the weight of the world on your shoulders, you always stopped to have some fun.

I’ll always be your little girl, the one you took for piggyback and motorcycle rides.  Even if you wanted to cruise alone, you never left me behind.  And when I feel like I’m falling behind, I think of how much you sacrificed just to make ends meet.

I’ll always be your little girl, the one you used to watch cartoons and eat popsicles with.  Even if we had seen that cartoon a million times before, you never complained.  And when I’m stressed out, I remember that no matter how tired you were you always took time to enjoy the little things with me, building memories that I’ll never forget.

I’ll always be your little girl, the one you taught to drive a stick and shoot a gun.  Although, I think I need a little more practice with the art of go, you never gave up on me.  And whenever I feel like giving up, I think of how hard you worked to give me a good life that I’m forever grateful for.

I’ll always be your little girl, the one you taught to throw a punch.  And let me practice on your arm with my little fists of fury.  Whenever the going gets tough, I remember how much you’ve fought through the pain in life and it gives me strength to go on.

I’ll always be your little girl, the one who shares your inappropriate laughing and snappy way of saying things.  Even if we might piss a few people off now and then, it’s worth it because you taught me to speak my mind.  And if I feel alone, I always remember how much we’re alike and I realize I’m never alone because I’ll always have you in my heart.

I’ll always be your little girl, the one who will look up to you forever and someday pass on your advice.  Advice that will always make me think of you and bring a smile to my face.  Even now in my darkest hour, it’s your words that get me through.

And I’ll always be your little girl, the one who’s older now, but would give anything to spend one more day with you.  The one who is proud to say I have a Dad like you.  And the one who loves you more than life itself!

Happy Father’s Day Dad!

Be sure to go to Better Than Chicken Soup for more stories!

And if you need gift ideas check these out

4 thoughts on “Dear Dad Poem, Reasons Why I Love My Dad… Happy Father’s Day!

Leave a Reply

