Signs from the Universe

Not something you see everyday... extra chompers when Scruffas was a kitten
Not something you see everyday… extra chompers when Scruffas was a kitten

The other day I had a weird thing happen.  We’re not talking pizza smeared with Nutella weird.  No.  We’re talking Batman, the Joker, and I sat down and had a picnic  together kinda weird.  It’s something I never thought would happen and all I had to do was ask.

With my day job in the legal field, that I’ve talked a little bit about before, most days are a real challenge.  But not in a good way.  I don’t want to go into details, so suffice it to say I’m not very happy.  Okay, let’s be real I’m miserable.  Don’t get me wrong I’m thankful I have a job… it’s just… I wouldn’t call it a healthy work environmentFor me anyway.  So why do I stay?  Well, the pay is decent, I have my own office, and I always say it could be worse.  Blah, blah, blah… what I’m getting to is that my husband wants me to quit all the time and pursue writing full-time.  We call it the “five-year plan”, where if I don’t make it in five years I’ll go back into the workforce.  Only I just can’t make that leap.  However, after my little experience I am heavily considering it.

So what happened, right?  Well, our fluorescent light bulbs need replacing in our basement but we haven’t got around to it. Now they’re fickle and only work when they feel like it. That day they didn’t feel like it. It was a rainy dark night and I’m downstairs feeding our cats while telling them about my bad day at work (yes I talk to them… they’re very good listeners). I say out loud that I wish the universe would give me an obvious sign that it’s time to quit my job and pursue my writing career. Right after I said that, the lights turned on. Bam.  Then I got this warm calming fuzzy feeling that I can’t ever remember having before.  Not gonna lie… it totally freaked me out!

I’m not one that usually believes in signs, but I can’t get over what happened.  Ask and you shall receive, right?  It’s just crazy!  So what do you think?  A sign?  Coincidence?  Magical faulty electrical signal that just happened at the right moment?  Time to make that leap?  I’m beginning to think yes!

2 thoughts on “Signs from the Universe

Leave a Reply

