Book Review: Shadowkiller – Wendy Corsi Staub

Book: Shadowkiller

Author: Wendy Corsi Staub

Rating: 2.5 out of 5 stars

ShadowkillerThis one’s a shadow of the other two in Wendy Corsi Staub’s trilogy (read my reviews of Nightwatcher and Sleepwalker).  SHADOWKILLER is the third book in the series and although the story is vastly different from the other two, some common noxious elements remain.   Elements that I’m not sure make it worth reading, but I’ll let you be the judge of that.

Shortly after the main characters, Allison Taylor MacKenna and her husband Mack MacKenna, end their harrowing ordeal with the Nightwatcher in the first two books, another nightmare crops up.  Allison and Mack are just getting back to the comforts of suburban living when they decide to get away from it all.  All but a shadow that follows them on their cross-country road trip.  And that shadow has a plan, one that could destroy Allison’s comfortable little life once and for all.

Again, we have a book that is bursting at the seams with drab everyday details.  Maybe that’s your kinda book.  And that’s cool, but for me, it just isn’t.  I felt like half of it could have been cut out and perhaps then the pace would have picked up a little.  Or at least I could have skimmed faster.  For me, it seemed like I was watching a couple go through their everyday life and not much more.  Where’s the suspense?  Where’s the action?  Where’s the mystery?  Hell, I’ll even take romance at this point.  Give me something juicy to sink my imagination into.

But unlike the other two books, this killer makes you want to turn the pages to find out what is motivating them.  Why are they killing?  What connection do they have to the MacKennas?  More importantly, why are they obsessed with Allison?  And just when you think you have it figured out, you might have to think again.  Thank goodness for this because that’s what hinges the entire book together.  Without it, there wouldn’t be a story or a reason to read.

Oh, and there’s a weak attempt to connect an earlier murder in the first book with the killer in this one, but it’s too underdeveloped for anyone to care about it.  I mean, it’s explained in this book, and it felt kinda like an ah-ha moment… like, oh yeah I forgot about that…, but if it had been left out I doubt most readers would have remembered it.  Myself included.  I actually think it could have been a cool concept for a stand-alone, but alas it was burned in this book.

Unfortunately, after reading these three books, I’m going to take a break from Wendy Corsi Staub for a while.  Instead, I’m hoping to read something that isn’t filled with details that make my eyes bleed and brain feel overloaded.  But I’m not giving up on Staub.  And if you’re wondering if this trilogy is worth it at all, I would say read the first and the last, but skip that second one.  That one’s not worth it at all.

Leave a Reply

