Book Review: Nightwatcher – Wendy Corsi Staub

Book: Nightwatcher

Author: Wendy Corsi Staub

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

NightwatcherWatch out, this one might get you.  NIGHTWATCHER is the first book in a trilogy by Wendy Corsi Staub.  And yes, I have read all three and for me this was by far the best book out of all of them.  Although, it wasn’t without its flaws, it could grab you if you give it a chance; in both a good way and bad.

So, I can sum up the book in three sentences, ready?  Okay.  A serial killer, the Nightwatcher, terrorizes New York City right in the midst of September 11.  And Allison Taylor, fresh to the city, is right in the middle of it all.  Along with her neighbor Mack MacKenna who’s wife disappeared that tragic morning.  There you have it.  That’s it folks.  I could throw in some insignificant details to spice it up, but I’m not sure they really would do the trick.

First off, if I hadn’t read the other two books in the trilogy, I would not understand the point of having the plot set in the middle of the September 11th crisis.  It seems to serve no purpose in the first book other than Mack’s predicament and to shut down the city.  But, you know, hindsight is 20/20 and now I understand the relevance.  Unfortunately, that understanding doesn’t come until the final book, and even then it’s a bit of a stretch.

You’re probably wondering what’s the point of reading it then.  Is it exciting?  Eh.  Is it boring?  Eh.  How would I describe it?  A bunch of mundane detail with several sections of intriguing suspense.  Those suspenseful parts are why I would say to read it.  They were very good and helped me pushed through the other more dreary parts.  But was it enough to hold my interest for three more books?  Well, aside from me being determined to finish the next two, the killer was an interesting idea and I was very fascinated by it.  However, both the motivations of the killer and the other characters were rather weak.  And, to top it off, I feel Staub made one fatal error, which ruined the entire second book.  (If you want to know the error click here for my review of the second book SLEEPWALKER.)  But I still think you should give this one a try.  Like I said, it might just get you.

Leave a Reply

